A biorhythm (from Greek βίος – bios, “life”[1] and ῥυθμός – rhuthmos, “any regular recurring motion, rhythm”[2]) is an attempt to predict various aspects of a person’s life through simple mathematical cycles. The theory was developed by Wilhelm Fliess in the late 19th century, and was popularized in the United States in late 1970s. [Wikipedia]

I have tried, unsuccessfully, to map my so-called biorhythms. “Why, on earth?” you may ask. Rightfully so. Well, to be honest, I thought of how nice life would be if I could predict the bad and good days in advance… sort of to be prepared for either the best or the worse. Let me tell you, it simply doesn’t work! Whether it is closer to pseudoscience or leans more towards horoscopes, I’m not sure. What I have learned is that life is never predictable, and in that unpredictability lies the very definition of what we call “life”. It is true that the universe has cycles because we all experience day, night, seasons and the like. But even in that there are variances… How can I hope to map my life in precise days, equally distributed against an absolute ‘high’ or ‘low’?

In order to experience life fully we must be prepared for the bad and the good. When we are prepared to expect the unexpected it will stand us in good stead. It is from this observation that we will also experience all those wonderful inspirational quotes and vernacular saying that seem to be so popular on social media. For instance, Carpe Diem. Seize the day! Or what about, Every cloud has a silver lining? Whatever idiomatic expression suits the description of your hour/day/year/life would also be applicable to my own circumstances.

What matters is the way in which we embrace the deck life deals us at our table. It comes down to attitude. It comes down to having a vision, and a goal, and a specific destination in mind. What comes along the way is merely there to color the road, but should never be of such importance that it varies the course we’ve set. This is equally applicable to long, medium and short term goals.

Sometimes I try, flippantly, to brush off the bad days with a comment, “Oh, my biorhythms are low today,” but it more often than not voices my inability to want to deal with those issues. Have you ever heard the question, “Why do bad things happen to good people?” Well, that question encapsulates the very resonance of life. Whether we like it or not, we are human, and in this universe we reside on earth. So somewhere in this journey of life something “bad” is going to happen. Also, something “good”, so not all is lost!

I reckon that the way I deal with the “bad” will considerably flavor my experience of the “good”. And I am not trying to sound fatalistic! I sincerely believe in purpose and order, and don’t subscribe to fate – certainly not as a pronoun and giving it some personal vindication.

This made me realize the importance of something else, other than only good and bad,  that is required. I mean, there must be an absolute line/experience against which I can balance both bad and good experiences?! And here’s the good news – I did find it. In God, the creator of all, I have found the absolute standard against which I can measure my entire life. With God I don’t need to rely on horoscopes, biorhythms, Chi or whatever else may purport to give meaning to existence. I have found that God is existence. I have found that God is life. Now, I don’t mean to say that because God is Life, He is both bad and good. No! He is good always, but He knows the bad. He is good always, but has experienced all bad on my behalf.

I want to shout, “This is incredible!” but really, it is all credible. So when the bad comes along my way (and earth is keen to dish those out) I simply need to remind myself that whatever I am facing, Jesus has already faced it. Not only has He faced it, He has gone through and overcome that situation. So, in between the bad and the good stands a constant – the One through and by Whom all things exist. Because of this my spirit resonates His voice: “All things work out for good for those that love Him, and for those who choose Him as final destination.” (My friend, Paul, I apologize for the paraphrase).

Let me end off this short musing with another expression – Life is made up of valleys and peaks. Indeed it is, but regardless, the road continues through all the ups and downs. I say, “Let the valleys come. Let the peaks present themselves.” No matter where I find myself on this road called life, I know that I have a secure Partner at my side. And yes, all will work out for good, because He is good. Always. Do I minimize the pain of the bad or brush off the elation of the good? Not by any stretch of the imagination! But, since my pain (present or future) has already been experienced by Jesus, there is hope that I can deal with it as well. After all, He is standing right beside me! And what better way to experience the good than to share it with some whom you love, and who loves you!

