Of all the photos in the world that matter, there is always a point of focus. An arbitrary photograph of, for instance, an expanse of water by itself, may conjure up some kind of emotion, but the photograph itself is mostly quickly forgotten. Those that have a point of focus essentially (should I say, For me?) can be classed as “full” or “empty”. By “full” I mean there is much happening in the frame, and by “empty” I mean that the empty spaces left have as much meaning as those spaces that are filled. Every now and then one come across a moment where “full” and “empty” meet, where the photo conveys a full emptiness, or indeed, an empty fullness.

This kind of photo often becomes a metaphor for life, and whether the composition or color is good or not, still manages to convey a message by the soul to the soul. Perhaps this is why I am drawn to objects/subjects that portray the quintessence of abandonment. Abandonment may personify an expression of lost hope, unachieved goals, regrets and disappointments. But then again, that same scene contains the ghosts of stories untold and experiences beyond our imagination. Imagine the stories a castle ruin can tell! Imagine the stories coming from an abandoned graveyard. Imagine the stories a rusted, discarded bicycle can tell!

So I am faced by this wild dichotomy of hope and hopeless caught in a single moment. Much like I experience life. Yet the beauty of this is that I still have to make a choice which side of this coin (photo, moment, experience) I will take with me and make my own. And that is the crux of the matter.

waterparkpanorama1web

[ABANDONED WATER PARK, East London, South Africa]

In its heyday it was a jubilent and splashy place filled with the sound of many happy children… today only the fish enjoy this place.

