sunrise25May2013_web

A sunrise does something on the inside of me that I struggle to put into words. What I can say, is that a sunrise reminds me mostly of who I am and who I can be. Let me try to explain. When I experience a sunrise that experience is unique to me. The way I see it is unique to me, and there is not a single other person that sees that sunrise the way I see it, or experiences that sunrise from my perspective.

At that very GPS point there is only a single person… me… and that ensures that even though many people may witness the same tune rise on the same day my vantage point is markedly different from any one else’s. I like to say that it is God painting a picture ‘just for me.’ And I don’t say this in an arrogant or vain way at all! So, a sunrise reminds me that I am ‘special’ to God and that He cares about me. After all, He took the time to paint a canvas that was intended for me. It also reminds me the dawn of a new day provides me with a dawn of possibilities – to make changes, to set goals, to pursue success, and simply to enjoy the day. Lastly, it reminds me that yesterday is no longer there, and that I can confidently leave the bad choices, the ‘mistakes’ and the lost opportunities in the past. A sunrise, in effect, is like a concentrate of the day… just add 1 part concentrate to 4 parts water and you will have a good result.

Poetry is a similar concentrate. Words are distilled to focus on the essence, where all the flavour is captured in the smallest amount possible. As we read poetry we add in the ‘water’ or whatever it is we need to expand the ‘flavour’ of our understanding, appreciation and enjoyment. So, what better way than to put a sunrise and poetry together…

sunrise1.png

 

 

